top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandra Rose Creative

Lockside - Camden

I love Camden. It’s trendy, funky and full of the weird and wonderful.


I mentioned in my last blog how I used to absolutely love visiting Camden as a teenager.

It’s changed drastically over the last 15 years since I’ve been going out there. Pop up street food stalls and huts have become the staple of the Lock, with a range of cuisines available from all over the world.


I’m a big fan of TexMex food. I like the fusion between Mexico & America with all of their spices, sauces and flavours. It’s one of my favourites!


When I eat I like to sit down, relax and enjoy my food. Standing up squashed between hundreds of people is perfect for ‘food on the go’ but I’m more of a chilled out, take your time kind of foodie. Plus I need room to put the food in my mouth!


Lockside Camden is a well established eat-in restaurant and bar. Perfect for me to relax. Located on the upper walkway inside The Lock, it been open since 2005 and had a refurbishment in January of this year.


With a large outside area overlooking the Lock, it’s great during the warmer months. The perfect spot to enjoy food and a few drinks while you watch the world go by.


Most recently they’ve branched upon a fresh TexMex theme with their ‘Evil Twin’ brand delivering fresh, authentic food bursting with flavour from their creative kitchen.


The chefs are energetic, enthusiastic and bubbly. Just what you want from this type of area.


We sat down at the back of the restaurant after ordering our drinks from the bar. Nattering away about what a fantastic location it was and checking out the quirky artwork on the walls.



From framed cans of craft beer to an image of Grime artist D Double E dressed as the (Newham) General (If you know you know). It’s eclectic and unique. There’s even an image of a pair of Reebok Classics which were the fashion staple of street wear when I was growing up, those and Air Force 1’s were my favourites!


Within a very reasonable time our food arrived!

A wooden serving board packed with a fabulous array of foods arrived at our table and we tucked straight in!

  • 5 Hour “Hell Yeah” Pork Belly Tacos with Kimchi & Guac, corn tortilla

  • Hot Butter & Siracha Wings spring Onions, Blue Cheese dip

  • Jalapeño Poppers, Chipotle Aioli, spring Onions

  • Nacho’s smothered in Queso



First off I went for the Pork Tortilla. Beautifully light with tender Pork layered on top, the Guacamole at the bottom blended perfectly with all the flavours. Lovely jubbly!

1 view0 comments
bottom of page